
Webull vs Schwab (thinkorswim) vs Interactive Brokers: Best for Active Traders in 2026?
Webull, Schwab (thinkorswim, now home to former TD Ameritrade clients) and Interactive Brokers compared for active traders on commissions, margin rates, short selling, platforms and the June 2026 end of the PDT rules, from each broker's own pages (checked October 2026).
What's the best broker for active traders in 2026: Webull, Schwab or Interactive Brokers?
Interactive Brokers fits traders who borrow on margin or sell short often: IBKR Pro charges 5.380% on balances up to USD 100,000, against 12.075% on Schwab's smallest tier, and it publishes short-borrow tools. Schwab, which acquired TD Ameritrade and kept the thinkorswim platforms, fits chart-heavy traders and has spelled out how it handles day trading after June 2026. Webull fits options traders who want $0 commissions on listed options, provided they confirm which day-trading rules apply, because its own pages disagree.
Free: Top 10 Brokers Comparison Chart
Save hours of research
The picks rest on five criteria: the cost of borrowing on margin, commissions on stocks and options, support for short selling, platform depth, and how each broker says it is handling the end of the pattern day trader rules. Every fee and rate below is quoted from the broker's own pages (checked October 2026), and this comparison is built from those pages rather than first-hand use. Treat it as general information rather than financial advice; investing involves risk.
The three brokers side by side
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Checked October 2026 | Webull | Schwab (thinkorswim) | Interactive Brokers |
|---|---|---|---|
| US stock and ETF commissions | $0 commissions | $0 online commission | IBKR Lite: $0 per share; IBKR Pro: USD 0.005 per share fixed, or USD 0.0005 to USD 0.0035 tiered |
| Options commissions | $0; $0.50 per contract on certain index options and $0.10 on oversized orders | $0 base plus $0.65 per contract | USD 0.65 per contract fixed, or USD 0.15 to 0.65 tiered |
| Margin rate, smallest published tier | Table marked as of March 31, 2026; check the current rate | 12.075% on debit balances of $100-$24,999.99 | IBKR Pro 5.380% and IBKR Lite 6.380% on balances of USD 0 to 100,000 |
| Margin minimum | $2,000 in equity | $2,000 in cash or marginable securities | Not stated on the IBKR pages cited here |
| Short selling | Offered in margin accounts; borrowing fees can change suddenly | Short sales of stocks above $16.66: $2,000 minimum equity, 30% maintenance | Real-time short availability search and a borrow-cost calculator |
| Day trading after June 2026 | Its change page says no $25K minimum; its margin page still cites $25,000 | Stopped counting day trades as of June 8 | Not stated on its commission and margin pages |
| Platforms | Desktop for Mac, Windows and Linux, plus web and mobile | thinkorswim desktop, web and mobile | Trader Workstation, IBKR Desktop, Client Portal and IBKR Mobile |
The two margin tiers in the table cover different balance ranges, so compare the full schedules below at the balance you expect to carry.
Interactive Brokers: lower margin rates and published short-borrow tools
Commissions. IBKR runs two plans. IBKR Lite charges $0 per share on US listed stocks and ETFs for US residents, though IBKR reserves the right to reject Lite orders that appear to show non-retail trading behavior. IBKR Pro, which IBKR says is designed for active traders who want professional tools, charges a fixed USD 0.005 per share with a minimum of USD 1.00 and a maximum of 1 percent of trade value per order, all exchange, clearing and regulatory fees included. Its tiered option runs from USD 0.0005 to USD 0.0035 per share, falling as monthly volume rises, with exchange, regulatory and clearing costs passed through and a USD 0.35 minimum per order. US options cost USD 0.65 per contract on the fixed schedule, or USD 0.15 to 0.65 tiered.
Margin. IBKR's USD rates are set as a spread over a benchmark rate: 5.380% for IBKR Pro and 6.380% for IBKR Lite on balances up to 100,000. IBKR Pro falls to 4.880% between 100,000 and 1,000,000, while IBKR Lite stays at 6.380%. IBKR charges a blended rate across its tiers, accrues interest daily and posts it monthly, and says interest tiers may change without prior notice to clients.
Short selling. A short sale depends on finding shares to borrow and on what borrowing them costs. IBKR offers a Short Securities Availability search for real-time availability and a Short Sale Cost calculator for the cost of borrowing stock, so you can check both before placing the order.
Platforms. IBKR's plan comparison lists Client Portal, IBKR Mobile, IBKR Desktop, Trader Workstation (TWS), its APIs, algos and paper trading among the trading technology available.
Day trading after June 2026. IBKR's commission and margin-rate pages do not say how it is applying the new intraday margin standards. Ask IBKR which rules govern your account before relying on either the old $25,000 threshold or its replacement.
Risk, in IBKR's words: trading on margin is only for experienced investors with high risk tolerance, and you may lose more than your initial investment.
Schwab (thinkorswim): day-trading rules already spelled out for 2026
What happened to TD Ameritrade. Schwab's welcome page for former TD Ameritrade customers says that TD Ameritrade, Inc. has been acquired by Charles Schwab and that all clients of TD Ameritrade, Inc. are now Schwab clients, with continued access to the thinkorswim platform suite alongside Schwab.com and the Schwab Mobile app.
Commissions. Schwab lists a $0 online commission on listed stocks and ETFs, a $0 base commission plus $0.65 per contract on online options trades, and no account or trade minimums.
Margin. Schwab's base rate is 10.25%, last changed on 9/18/2026, and its effective rate falls as the debit balance grows:
| Debit balance | Schwab's margin rate (checked October 2026) |
|---|---|
| $100-$24,999.99 | Base rate + 1.825%, effective 12.075% |
| $25,000-$49,999.99 | Base rate + 1.325%, effective 11.575% |
| $50,000-$99,999.99 | Base rate + 0.375%, effective 10.625% |
| $100,000-$249,999.99 | Base rate + 0.325%, effective 10.575% |
| $250,000-$499,999.99 | Base rate + 0.075%, effective 10.325% |
For balances of $500k and above, Schwab asks you to call. Margin borrowing at Schwab starts once you hold at least $2,000 in cash or marginable securities, and interest is calculated daily and posted monthly.
Short selling. Schwab's combined margin requirements for short sales of common stock and non-leveraged ETFs priced above $16.66 are $2,000 minimum equity, 50% of net proceeds initially and 30% of the short market value for maintenance.
Platforms. thinkorswim comes in three forms. Schwab describes the desktop version as a fully customizable software-based platform for testing strategies, developing ideas and placing complex trades; the web version adds charting, streaming Level 2 quotes and options tools; the mobile app offers Level 2 streaming quotes and customizable charting.
Day trading after June 2026. Schwab's July 6, 2026 explainer spells out its approach. It says that as of June 8, Schwab no longer counts day trades in margin accounts, that accounts formerly flagged as PDT with a balance below $25,000 have had their PDT status removed, and that Schwab would introduce Intraday Margin Buying Power on July 13 for eligible margin accounts with at least $2,000. That buying power uses a 25% margin requirement and can provide up to four times the buying power intraday. Positions opened with it that exceed overnight buying power must be closed by 8 p.m. ET or a margin call may be issued, and Schwab's real-time monitoring may block trades that would create or increase intraday margin deficits. Schwab also notes that the old rules were no longer in effect as of June 4, 2026, although brokerages have up to 18 months to implement the new ones.
Risk, in Schwab's words: day trading can be extremely risky and is generally not appropriate for those with limited resources, limited investment or trading experience, and low risk tolerance; on margin you could lose more than your initial investment and must repay the loan plus interest regardless of the value of the collateral.
Webull: $0 options commissions, but confirm its day-trading rules
Commissions. Webull's disclosure defines free trading of stocks, ETFs and options as $0 commissions for self-directed cash, margin and IRA accounts trading listed securities. A $0.50 per contract fee applies to certain index options and $0.10 per contract to oversized option orders, and regulatory and exchange fees apply.
Margin. Webull's margin accounts need at least $2,000 in equity and offer up to 4x leverage on day-trade buying power, 2x on overnight positions. Webull's margin page shows a rate table, but it is marked as of March 31, 2026, so check Webull's pricing page for the current rate before comparing it with the figures above. Webull says its Premium subscription provides access to reduced margin rates.
Short selling. The ability to short-sell is one of the margin-account features Webull lists, and its risk list warns that short selling loss can be infinite and that the security borrowing fee can change suddenly.
Platforms. Webull offers desktop apps for Mac, Windows and Linux (Ubuntu), plus web and mobile, with full depth-of-market Level 2 quotes, what it calls 15+ order types, and algorithms such as VWAP, TWAP and POV.
Day trading after June 2026. Webull's own pages disagree. Its page on the change says "No more $25k minimum. No more day trade limits.", contrasting the old PDT rule, ending June 3rd, 2026, with the new intraday trading margin regulations effective June 4th, 2026, under which accounts are not restricted by number of day trades and Intraday Margin Deficit (IMD) calls replace the old ones. Its margin page, checked the same month, still says day traders probably want to keep equity above $25,000, because an Equity Maintenance call may follow a PDT flag. Ask Webull which rules apply to your account before trading on either statement.
Risk, in Webull's words: margin trading involves unique risks, including interest charges and the potential to lose more than deposited.
Which broker fits which trader
- You carry margin balances most days: IBKR Pro, on the rates above. Recheck Webull's current rate before ruling it out, since its published table is dated March 31, 2026.
- You short often: IBKR, for its availability search and borrow-cost calculator. Schwab and Webull both allow short sales in margin accounts under the requirements and warnings above.
- You trade listed equity options in volume: Webull, at $0 commissions against $0.65 per contract at Schwab and USD 0.65 fixed at IBKR, as long as its index-option and oversized-order fees do not apply to you. Our options fee comparison covers more brokers.
- You want one charting platform on desktop, web and phone, and day-trading rules already spelled out: Schwab's thinkorswim.
- You trade very high share volume: IBKR Pro on tiered pricing, whose per-share rate falls as monthly volume rises.
Before you fund an account, read our pattern day trader rule guide for what changed in 2026; our margin trading guide covers maintenance calls and forced sales, and our Robinhood vs Webull comparison covers Webull against another app.
Tools that help at any broker
No broker replaces a written plan and a record of every fill. A trading journal is one way to keep that record (check the current price on Amazon). On the reading side, Mark Douglas's Trading in the Zone (check the current price on Amazon) and Andrew Aziz's How to Day Trade for a Living (check the current price on Amazon) are on our list; our overview of the Aziz book notes which rules it predates. To compare more platforms, see our full shortlist.
FAQ
Is TD Ameritrade still a separate broker in 2026?
No. Schwab says TD Ameritrade, Inc. has been acquired by Charles Schwab and that all of its clients are now Schwab clients, with continued access to the thinkorswim platform suite (checked October 2026).
Which of the three charges the least for margin?
Of the current schedules on the brokers' own pages, IBKR Pro's 5.380% on balances up to USD 100,000 (6.380% on IBKR Lite) is below Schwab's 12.075% on debit balances of $100-$24,999.99. Webull's margin page shows rates as of March 31, 2026, so check its current rate directly.
Do I still need $25,000 to day trade at these brokers?
At Schwab, no: it stopped counting day trades as of June 8 and removed PDT status from formerly flagged accounts below $25,000. Webull's change page says there is no $25K minimum, but its margin page still mentions $25,000, so confirm with Webull. IBKR's commission and margin pages do not say, so ask IBKR.
Which broker is cheapest for options trades?
On listed equity options, Webull charges $0 commissions, against $0.65 per contract at Schwab and USD 0.65 per contract fixed, or USD 0.15 to 0.65 tiered, at IBKR. Webull adds $0.50 per contract on certain index options and $0.10 on oversized orders.
Can I short sell at all three?
Yes. Schwab and Webull both offer short selling through margin accounts, Schwab with a $2,000 minimum equity requirement for short sales and Webull with $2,000 in equity to qualify for margin, while IBKR publishes a real-time short availability search and a borrow-cost calculator. Borrow fees can move fast, as Webull warns.
Sources
- TD Ameritrade, Inc. is now at Schwab β Charles Schwab (checked October 2026)
- Pricing β Charles Schwab (checked October 2026)
- Schwab margin rates and requirements β Charles Schwab (checked October 2026)
- Schwab Updates Day Trading and Margin Rules β Charles Schwab (checked October 2026)
- Commissions & Fees β Interactive Brokers (checked October 2026)
- Margin Rates and Financing β Interactive Brokers (checked October 2026)
- Margin Trading β Webull (checked October 2026)
- Day Trade Without the $25K Minimum β Webull (checked October 2026)
Affiliate Disclosure
Discussion
Sign in with GitHub to leave a comment. Your replies are stored on this site's public discussion board.



